What are Bears? Definition, Types, & Examples

  • Post last modified:September 29, 2021
  • Reading time:6 mins read

Table of Contents

Bears Definition

Bears are members of the Ursidae family of animals. Their bodies are generally enormous, with coarse, thick hair, short limbs, and practically rudimentary tails. Bears spend the most of their lives alone or in small groups. They may be found all over the world, including North and South America, Europe, and Asia.

Bears in the Northern Hemisphere hibernate throughout the winter. Brown bears, Asiatic black bears, and American black bears all hibernate in their dens. Polar bears, giant pandas, sloth bears, sun bears, and Andean bears do not hibernate.

What are Bears?

Bears range in height from 4 to 8 feet, and their weight ranges from 60 to over a thousand pounds, with male polar bears weighing in at 1400 pounds. They have a highly developed sense of smell. They have nonretractable claws that aid in food digging.

Bears, What are Bears 1

They are plantigrade, meaning they walk on the soles of their feet, just like humans. With the exception of polar bears, they all have hairless soles. Their soles have hair on them, so they can walk on ice with confidence. Many of them are adept climbers and swimmers, despite their enormous size. The clavicle bone is absent in bears. A baculum is a male reproductive organ.

Bears Hibernation and Diet

During the winter, bears in the Northern Hemisphere hibernate. Asiatic black bears, American black bears, and brown bears are the three species. Food might be scarce at the time. As a result, they hibernate in the winter to cope with food scarcity.

Their metabolism slows, resulting in a considerable reduction in energy expenditure. It takes more energy to go out hunting for food at this time of year than it does to reduce your temperature, heart rate, respiration, and metabolism. Their source of energy is a coating of fat that they have accumulated from the food they ate in the summer and fall. They may die of hunger if they do not store enough fat for the winter.

Hibernation is not observed in giant pandas, sloth bears, sun bears, or Andean bears. Polar bears do not hibernate and spend the winter outside. Because they enter their dens and stay there for several months, pregnant polar bears appear to be hibernating.

For the first three months, they remain in their dens to give birth and feed their pups. Their metabolism, heart rate, and respiration rate all slow down. They do not, however, attain the condition of real hibernation.

Their diet might be mostly plant-based, meat-based, or a combination of the two. Giant pandas, for example, nearly always consume bamboo, but polar bears eat primarily meat (e.g. seals and fish). Insects, nuts, berries, grasses, and other plants are eaten by black bears. They may also kill and eat moose calves and deer fawns.

Bears Reproduction

Males and females split apart soon after mating. In the Northern Hemisphere, pregnant females give birth in the den during the winter, but tropical bears give birth 6 to 8 weeks before the fruit-ripening season. The time has to do with the fact that many bear species have delayed implantation.

During the summer breeding season, females capable of delayed implantation mate. The fertilised egg grows into a blastocyst after fertilisation. Embryonic development, on the other hand, will be halted at this point. The blastocyst will stay dormant in the uterus, unimplanted.

In late November or early December, it will restart growth and implant in the uterine wall, and the cubs will be born in January or February. Sun bears do not exhibit seasonal breeding or delayed implantation.

They have a year-round breeding season. The enormous panda is another exception. They have a shorter gestational period despite having delayed implantation. Giant pandas give birth to their children sooner than other bear species.

Researchers believe that giving birth to their offspring at a young age is critical to their survival. Giant pandas do not become dormant throughout the winter. To endure the cold throughout the winter months, the young must develop their fur.

Cubs are born blind and naked, totally reliant on their mothers for survival (altricial). By the age of 3.5 to 6 years, bears are sexually mature. Bears live for 15 to 30 years in the wild. Their lifetimes can be extended in captivity.

Bears Threats and Conservation

The IUCN lists a number of bear species as vulnerable or endangered. They are poached and trafficked illegally for their flesh and fur. Bear bile generated in their gallbladder is used in Chinese traditional medicine, which is another reason they are illegally hunted and sold.

Illegal logging and other human activities can pose a threat to their ecosystems. Climate change may also play a role in habitat loss, particularly for polar bears living in the Arctic, which is at risk of losing sea ice due to melting.

Bears Examples

There are eight species of bears that are still alive today. The following are the details: (1) American black bear (Tremarctos), (2) Andean or spectacled bear (Tremarctos), (3) Asiatic black bear (Tremarctos), (4) brown bear (Ailuropoda), (6) polar bear, (7) sloth bear (Melursus), and (8) sun bear (Helarctos). The genus Ursus includes the American black bear, Asiatic black bear, polar bear, and brown bear.

Related Post
Spread the love

Leave a Reply